Posted by: alittlesipoflemmonade | December 31, 2015

About the Blogger

That's me!

That’s me!

Hi, my name is Becky Lemmon and you’ve found my blog.  I wish there was some fantastic prize for your discovery, but alas there are only my thoughts and ramblings.  If you’ve visited my blog before or if you already know me then some of this might be old information, but in case this is your first sip of Lemmon-ade . . . .

I am a thirty-something with an amazing other half and two adorable dogs.  We currently live in the Albuquerque metro area where I easily commute to my job as a software training coordinator in Santa Fe.

My twenties were challenging, but I graduated from Oregon State University (Go Beavs!) in 2013 with a B.S. in Mathematics, focusing on secondary education.  My coursework and research also focused heavily on adult education.  Professionally, I have two goals.  One is that I want the most is to teach mathematics and computer science at the community college level.  Don’t ever tell me you’ve chosen a different career path because the math was too hard.  I will take that as a challenge.

While attending OSU, I became increasingly aware of myself.  This included who I was from a social and political standpoint, as well as how my background gave me specific privileges I am still discovering with surprise and often disgust.  My other professional goal is to establish a business whose purpose to provide underprivileged children, teens, and young adults with the same educational resources as students with means and vast support networks.

I originally hail from Bloomington/Normal, Illinois but have lived in a variety of places.  I spent the better part of a decade in Southern California and several years in Oregon.  My current job as a software training coordinator has also landed me in Baton Rouge, Louisiana and Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.  At the moment, as I said above, I’m a New Mexican.

I don’t want to give you my entire life story.  For one, the vast majority of it is boring.  Secondly, I expect you’ll learn more through reading my upcoming posts.  This blog was, and still is, designed to be an outlet for me to think out loud.  I have a 45 minute commute and there are a lot of musings I can come up with in 45 minutes (each way).  Some posts might be philosophical in nature.  Some of them might be informative.  It’s 2016 and I expect that a fair few will be political in nature.  Please feel free to leave me comments or suggestions for other topics.  If you’re capable of a calm, rational, adult debate/argument, feel free to express your disagreement.  Please know that I will delete any and all profanity, obscene content, or blatantly offensive content posted to the comments section.

Thanks for checking out my blog and happy surfing!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

