Posted by: alittlesipoflemmonade | November 1, 2013

Daily Prompt: Eat, Drink, and Be Merry . . .

Daily Prompt: Eat, Drink, and Be Merry…

by michelle w. on November 1, 2013

…for tomorrow we die. The world is ending tomorrow! Tell us about your last dinner — the food, your dining companions, the setting, the conversation.

 

Choosing a last meal has never been easy for me.  In fact, I think I always manage to deflect the question if it ever comes up.  Choosing a last song to listen to, movie to watch, book to read, etc. . . . I could choose each of those with ease.  Yet food is so much harder!  Different flavors and textures spur different memories and instigate varying types of satisfaction.  On one hand, my mom’s shepherd’s pie is what I think of as comfort food.  It is just the right combination of salty, savory, and buttery.  Alternatively, my favorite “cuisine” is BBQ and a helping of brisket with baked beans and a baked potato is also VERY appealing.  Mmmmmm, this post is making my mouth water!  If I had to choose, though, I think that my last dinner would have to be my family’s version of Beef Bourgenion (with spaetzel instead of egg noodles).

As much as I enjoy a variety of proteins, beef is still my favorite.  A red wine sauce is always high on my list, and I absolutely love mushrooms and bacon!  While living in Albany, Oregon I became completely enamored with Novak’s Hungarian Restaurant and their Beef Porkolt which is served with spaetzel.  How I lived for 29 years with spaetzel in my life, I’ll never know.  For sides, I would like asparagus spears and whole cranberry sauce.  To drink, I would want all the milk I can drink, and for dessert:  black forest cherry cake.  I really hope that I’m not the one who has to prepare said last meal, because I might be too exhausted to enjoy it!

If I knew today was my last day, I would definitely want to see my family and friends.  During my dinner, however, I think I would want it to be just my partner and me.  Sharing a meal is a significant interaction and the last meal makes it all the more significant.  Maybe it reflects my introverted nature, that the idea of spending my last hours in a hoard people (even people I love and cherish) to be more than a little stressful.  No, my last dinner would have to be just the two of us and we would probably talk about all of the amazing times we’ve had, places we’ve been, and people we’ve met.  Can this dinner be days long, because that’s going to be a long conversation!

I’m honestly at a loss for the setting of this dinner.  It couldn’t be at the kitchen table.  That’s too “everyday”.  Just the two of us in a dining room always feels weird, like we’re eating before everyone else is supposed to arrive or something.  I think I would like a nice outdoor space or four seasons room that makes us feel like we’re in nature without the feeling of camping.  I’d like to be able to hear a fire crackling, evening birds singing, and the smell of summer.  A little John Williams, Hans Zimmer, Howard Shore, Mozart, and Bach coming from the house would top it off nicely.

Yes, that is exactly how I’d like my last meal on this earth to be.

 

Related Links:

http://www.novakshungarian.com/

Responses

  1. I enjoyed reading your post. Sounds like you are a foodie like I am!

  2. […] Daily Prompt: Eat, Drink, and Be Merry . . . | A Little Sip of Lemmon-ade […]

  3. […] Daily Prompt: Eat, Drink, and Be Merry . . . | A Little Sip of Lemmon-ade […]

  4. […] Daily Prompt: Eat, Drink, and Be Merry . . . | A Little Sip of Lemmon-ade […]

  5. […] Daily Prompt: Eat, Drink, and Be Merry . . . | A Little Sip of Lemmon-ade […]

  6. […] Daily Prompt: Eat, Drink, and Be Merry . . . | A Little Sip of Lemmon-ade […]

  7. […] Daily Prompt: Eat, Drink, and Be Merry . . . | A Little Sip of Lemmon-ade […]

  8. Writing posts is time consuming.I know where you can get unlimited content
    for your blog, type in google:
    Anightund’s rewriter


Leave a Reply

Categories

